Well, we can't have that, now... Remember Rickman mentioning he'd had dinner with Lionel recently? Yes? Good. Now you have something else to think about.
Which could just be because they blew their f/x budget trying to convince us (with no success whatsoever) there's a brain in Jonathan Ken't head... but I really don't think so.
I'd have to buy that a] he knows that's how Rickman's power works
Do you have a better explanation for Lex refusing to shake Rickman's hand every other time Bob tried? Lex is a hand-shaker, if his behaviour in other eps is anything to go by. And no, "I just don't like you" isn't a better explanation.
By the time Lex actually starts shooting, he's seen Clark demonstrate his powers to save Kyle.
Can you explain: Why would Lex not immediately shoot Kyle, when he finds him in the garage, if he's under Rickman's control? Why the "friendship is a fairy tale" speech, if Lex was under Rickman's control? No one else got chatty under the whammy. Lex started mouthing off like he'd been snorting Nicodemus pollen... or like he was taking advantage of the opportunity afforded by pretending not to be in control of his actions.
The last thing Lex would have wanted to do in Leech was confess to having purposely shot Clark while pretendimg to be under Rickman's control; admitting that would only have weakened his position.
By the time Lex actually starts shooting, he's seen Clark demonstrate his powers to save Kyle.
He's seen Clark demonstrate super speed and strength just then, plus speed in Rogue and strength in Jitters. Those two are all he knows for sure. He suspects invulnerability due to the car crash, but has no other proof as yet. He doesn't, I think, have any way of knowing about the X-ray vision or floating.
He has no reason to think all these powers come as a set. None. He doesn't know this is a show about Superman. ;)
I don't believe that he'd risk the life of his *one* real friend for a hypothesis (invulnerability) that he *knows* is wacky and for which he has little proof. Even if you eliminate altruistic and sentimental motives altogether and go with an entirely ruthless Lex, it makes no sense to test Clark in such a drastic way--if he's wrong, there goes his asset. He could easily have stabbed him in the arm with a pocketknife instead.
The only reasonable conclusion is that Lex was way beyond rational thought, and since we didn't see any evidence of hard drugs but DID see a man with mutant powers of persuasion there in the office, I think it's clear that he shook hands with Rickman.
They didn't show it for reasons of drama--so that we wouldn't know, in the few minutes between Clark calling Lex and Lex dousing the car with gasoline, whether Lex was himself or controlled by Rickman.
It freaked me out, too, particularly since I didn't catch Hug until the previous rerun and, having gorged myself on spoilers in fic, Omar's recap and elsewhere, I thought I knew what to expect.
no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 07:50 pm (UTC)*blink, blink, blink*
I think that's about all I'm going to be thinking about for the next little while.
no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 08:56 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 08:17 pm (UTC)Yes, that interestingly timed scene cut.
Date: 2002-08-19 08:54 pm (UTC)Re: Yes, that interestingly timed scene cut.
Date: 2002-08-19 09:03 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 08:51 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 11:00 pm (UTC)I'd have to buy that a] he knows that's how Rickman's power works
Do you have a better explanation for Lex refusing to shake Rickman's hand every other time Bob tried? Lex is a hand-shaker, if his behaviour in other eps is anything to go by. And no, "I just don't like you" isn't a better explanation.
By the time Lex actually starts shooting, he's seen Clark demonstrate his powers to save Kyle.
Can you explain:
Why would Lex not immediately shoot Kyle, when he finds him in the garage, if he's under Rickman's control?
Why the "friendship is a fairy tale" speech, if Lex was under Rickman's control? No one else got chatty under the whammy. Lex started mouthing off like he'd been snorting Nicodemus pollen... or like he was taking advantage of the opportunity afforded by pretending not to be in control of his actions.
The last thing Lex would have wanted to do in Leech was confess to having purposely shot Clark while pretendimg to be under Rickman's control; admitting that would only have weakened his position.
You could still be right. But I'm not convinced.
no subject
Date: 2002-08-20 02:37 am (UTC)He's seen Clark demonstrate super speed and strength just then, plus speed in Rogue and strength in Jitters. Those two are all he knows for sure. He suspects invulnerability due to the car crash, but has no other proof as yet. He doesn't, I think, have any way of knowing about the X-ray vision or floating.
He has no reason to think all these powers come as a set. None. He doesn't know this is a show about Superman. ;)
I don't believe that he'd risk the life of his *one* real friend for a hypothesis (invulnerability) that he *knows* is wacky and for which he has little proof. Even if you eliminate altruistic and sentimental motives altogether and go with an entirely ruthless Lex, it makes no sense to test Clark in such a drastic way--if he's wrong, there goes his asset. He could easily have stabbed him in the arm with a pocketknife instead.
The only reasonable conclusion is that Lex was way beyond rational thought, and since we didn't see any evidence of hard drugs but DID see a man with mutant powers of persuasion there in the office, I think it's clear that he shook hands with Rickman.
They didn't show it for reasons of drama--so that we wouldn't know, in the few minutes between Clark calling Lex and Lex dousing the car with gasoline, whether Lex was himself or controlled by Rickman.
no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 10:01 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2002-08-19 11:05 pm (UTC)